Paint It Gray

Gray Table

My newest creation in gray.

I see a red door and I want it painted gray. 

No colors anymore I want them to turn gray.

Usually I am into decorating with lots of color. My living room consists of bright columbia blues offset by deep cholocate brown. My bedroom combines a sunny yellow, with bold corals and sage greens.

But lately, I’m really into gray.

It began when I attended an event hosted by the Junior League of Washington called Tossed to Fabulous. This evening, which proceeds their annual Tossed and Found fundraiser (more on this event in an upcoming post) showcased DC designer Matt Swingly of McMaster Wallace Interiors. For an hour we munched on some appetizers while Matt showed us how to take old pieces and breathe new life into them  – and on a budget.

I not only took away some great ideas – but fell in love with the color gray. Matt used the Benjamin Moore color Weimaraner to repaint an old telephone table and it looked fab.

It struck me – I hardley ever use gray. In my mind, it had always fallen into that space between color and the basic neutrals. Now, I can’t get enough ot it.  It’s warm and inviting, yet clean and a great neutral. I’ve already used it to transform a table from the Craigslist Free section with Behr paint in Anonymous. and my good friend Sage the Weimaraner who always knew gray was in.

Bergen Street Residence contemporary living room

Contemporary living room design by New York architect CWB Architects

Sage the Weimaraner and Sienna the Vizsla and I hanging out.

One thought on “Paint It Gray

  1. Pingback: First Try – From Free to Fabulous | Gorgeoustown

Leave a Reply

